Field Notes

September 20, 2019

Lilly Center Honored at Governor’s Awards Ceremony for K-12 Education and Outreach Programs

The Governor’s Awards for Environmental Excellence were presented Wednesday, Sept. 18, to six recipients who were honored for extraordinary initiatives in protecting the environment, including the Lilly Center for Lakes & Streams. Dr. Nate Bosch, director of the center, and Caitlin Yoder, education coordinator at the center, attended the ceremony.

“I am pleased to award this year’s Governor’s Awards for Environmental Excellence,” said Bruno Pigott, commissioner of the Indiana Department of Environmental Management (IDEM). “These Awards recognize Indiana’s leaders who have implemented the most innovative, sustainable, and exemplary programs or projects.”

Commissioner Pigott and Rebecca Holwerda, Senior Operations Director for Governor Eric Holcomb, presented the awards during the 22nd annual Pollution Prevention Conference and Tradeshow held at the Marriott North in Indianapolis.

The Lilly Center won the Environmental Outreach/Education award for its innovative, original K-12 programming. The Lilly Center’s programs (Classroom Lake Experience, Lake Adventure Day, Aquatic Petting Zoo, and the Lakes & Streams Art Contest) put an emphasis on supplementing and complementing local educators’ curricula, are aligned with state educational standards, and have been proven to increase participants’ understanding of their role in protecting these resources. Each program has overwhelming and widespread support from local school corporations, businesses, and other organizations, and intends to raise a generation of citizens that are water-literate and creation-conscious.

“We’re honored to have been chosen for this award,” said Dr. Nate Bosch, director of the Lilly Center. “What a privilege to bring innovative, place-based learning to over 7,700 students throughout Kosciusko County last year alone!” The Lilly Center specifically thanks City of Warsaw Stormwater Utility, Dekko Foundation, Grace College School of Education, and Zimmer Biomet for their crucial support.